Printed all over

A look from the Basso & Brooke A/W 2010/11 collection at London Fashion Week. Photo: Alize Morand.

I cannot recall how many prints I have seen so far this season. If New York was fur-clad, London was invaded with prints, more than ever. I believe I quite know how to recognise most designers’ signature styles, but this season, to be fair, I don’t think I would have been able to distinguish between a printed mini-dress from Basso & Brooke, Peter Pilotto, Matthew Williamson, or Mary Katrantzou. Not to mention past seasons. They were literally everywhere.

With more diverse style but still obsessed, you also have Missoni, Erdem, Thakoon, Ashish, Manish Arora, Givenchy, Cacharel. I guess there’s a difference between houses for which prints is the core of the matter, and those who rock the current trend, but for which it is just a trend. And then there are so many types of prints, from liberty to retro, from flowers to ethnic. But we are talking the current trend here. You know the one I am talking about.

Now what surprises me, is that for a black & white/ Chanel/ LBD girl, I am starting to enjoy them. Yes, even the futuristico-animal-tye & dye type. I thought we would be bored of them by now, and that the trend would be over, but it is coming back stronger, and I am falling for it this time round. In fact, I am fantasising on some BCBG Max Azria printed and draped little numbers at the moment. With a tan, please. And an exotic holiday.

But seriously, there are several factors. And one of them is undoubtedly McQueen. I think more than a mere inspiration to others with his amazing take on prints, he reached the height of the graphic and futuristic trend with his last collection. Not that any of it was actually wearable, but that is what inspiration is for, just like haute-couture.

And interestingly, houses that set the tone first, such as Balenciaga, are going in another direction this season. Where is a good question though, regarding Nicolas Guesquière’s latest attempt.

3 Responses to “Printed all over”

  1. I am quietly waiting for the McQueen prints to surface from (what is unfortunately) his last collection. I was in Hampstead a while back looking at old Victorian quilts and blankets in a little shop, and the owner was telling me how he had been approached by museums to buy the quilts, but he felt they should be allowed a life outside the museum (although with prices starting from around £1000, I am not sure how willing people would be to actually used them). Anyhow, he told me I had only just missed McQueen who was looking through them to basically copy the prints from the quilts! I still have a hankering for classic prints over anything too futuristic or new to be honest.

  2. Love love love this look! Thanks for making me discover new designers. Your blog is a treasure box I love to dive in!

  3. […] season. Following last season’s bold, graphic and bodicon long dresses and tights – see here – next summer will be much softer and romantic with fluid and billowing chiffons. Special […]

Leave a Reply

