Couture dream

Maybe because they were few, maybe because they are the last, the Couture collections have left me absolutely speechless this season. Just raw beauty. Transported into another world, of dream and harmony. I cannot even make a choice. Givenchy (right), Christian Dior, Alexis Mabille, Elie Saab (left), Christian Lacroix, Chanel. These are the definition of timeless fashion, of eternal elegance.

“When she rode along the boulevards in her carriage, the crowd turned and said her name with the excitement of a populace saluting its sovereign, while she, reclining in her airy attire, smiled gaily… Supple as an eel, her scanty dress seeming both artful and negligent, exquisitely elegant, she had the distinction of a pedigree cat. With the aristocratic haughtiness of vice she set her foot defiantly on Paris as its all-powerful mistress. She set the tone, and the great ladies imitated her.” (Emile Zola, Nana)

The beautiful pictures come from ultimate fashion (re)sources: gorgeous Monochrome Magazine and Jak & Jil, pure inspiration and talent.

7 Responses to “Couture dream”

  1. Thank you for sharing these beautiful photographs. They are mesmerizing.
    Now, I am off to the library for a copy of Nana.

  2. Wedding dream ? Kisses. 🙂 @ +++

  3. Stunning photos – I do love Jak & Jil & Monochrome Magazine! (:

    bisous,
    La C.

  4. The latest Couture collections really did take my breath away. Fantasy and dream, raw emotion and expression, they were SO beautiful! The Givenchy collection was absolutely stunning, I printed out a few of the looks just to stick on my wall for my latest inspirations 🙂

  5. I too adored the latest Couture collection. It’s so unfortunate it’s dying out… I plan on going to the Vionnet exhibit in Paris soon and I still think it’s such a shame that that fashion house basically folded because no one could come close to recreating the original idea. This time around I think Givenchy, Dior and Chanel were my favorites.

  6. Diana: Oh, you’re welcome. I know, beautiful photography here. Do read Nana, it’s a classic. I read it ages ago, I should try again.
    Pierre-Jean: Wedding dream I don’t know, but wedding dress dream, that’s for sure! 🙂 xx
    La C.: I know I’m loving the pics, I had to put them up! Fashion reference for the best looks! x
    Dapper Kid: You’re so right, Givenchy was incredible. I have all the images in my head. But on your wall is a good idea too! 😉 Great inspiration.
    Hauteworld: Completely agree with you. You’ll have to let me know about the Vionnet exhibition, I don’t know if I’ll get to see it! x

  7. I love the couture! Its wonderful!

Leave a Reply

