Cédric Rivrain, fashion illustrator

I wanted to share with you my new crush for fabulous French illustrator Cédric Rivrain. His love for fashion and models is evident as he draws the likes of Sasha, Caroline or Kate wearing the latest designers’s creations, with subtlety and mystery. 

He also adds a personal touch with these masks or plasters, that ornate the face like precious jewels. Here are a Balenciaga silhouette on the left and a Prada look on the right. The rising star has had an exhibition in Paris last month – oh I wish i could have been there! – so watch out, because I believe we will hear much more about Cédric in the coming year!

Oh, and check his website here for more of these beautiful illustrations! Loving the technique and the chalk – which I love working with myself.

11 Responses to “Cédric Rivrain, fashion illustrator”

  1. Superbe … J’avais déjà vu quelques illustrations de lui mais j’ignorais qu’il avait un site… En effet, belle maîtrise du pastel. C’est d’autant plus difficile que cet usage est en général répandu sur la place du Tertre, ce qui a nettement “déclassé” la technique. Lui l’utilise avec goût et discernement sans que ça fasse effet facile pour masquer les fautes de dessin.
    Merci Alizé de nous en parler, tu as raison, on va entendre parler de lui.

  2. oh wow, i had a look at the website and was very impressed!

    Cédric Rivrain is really talented and i can’t wait to see more of his work in the future.

    I really enjoy reading what you write about so i have added you to my favorite blogs! 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  3. I love it! (: I’m checking out his website now!

    bisous,
    La C.

  4. […] Read more here: Cédric Rivrain, fashion illustrator « Blog Archive « Blog de Tendances […]

  5. Oh wow, I love this type of semi-realistic with a twinkle of colour in all the right places, I went to his site and first thing that’s staring at me is an illustration of amazing green eyes. Thanks for that!

  6. Wow, wonderful artist!!
    A pity I wasn’t in Paris at the time either, although it is true I hadn’t heard of him before (aw, how can law and economics sometimes disconnect you so much from art and culture?). But I am confident, your blog is progressively filling up the gaps of my knowledge..

    I had a look at his website too, and I love the Pearl Girl,
    it reminded me of you..in a way 🙂
    Bisous

  7. Isabelle: Merci Isabelle, je suis complètement d’accord! Son usage du pastel est subtil et maîtrisé, tout en douceur, et en détails, j’adore!
    Cocktailoffashion: Oh thanks so much! 🙂 I know, he’s such a great talent, isn’t he? I’m so glad I have discovered his work, I just had to share it! x
    La C.: Glad you like it, I knew you would, so fashiony yet so subtle and poetic. Pure visual delight! x
    Shini: I know, I’m loving the touches of colour too. And the unfinished effect of the chalk, and also the Egon Schiele-inspired illustrations. Really nice work and a lot of potential I reckon.. Hopefully we’ll soon be able to see his work in London! x
    Olivier: Oh don’t worry, he’s really an emerging artist, not so famous yet so no surprise you haven’t heard of him yet. You have the info before he becomes a big star now! 😉 Oh, The Pearl Girl.. I love her. I’m flattered! x

  8. Wow, wow and more wow, thank you so much for the link! I love the paper he uses, and the sparing flashes of colour are so beautiful. Those masks are such an interesting addition. Haha it kind of reminds me of 7of9 from Star Trek Voyager lol. Hope you’re having a beautiful weekend dear 🙂

  9. Great blog you got here..
    I love all the pictures you compile. You definitely have an eye for art & fashion.
    This illustration is my favorite of all.

  10. Dapper Kid: You’re welcome! Yes, you are so right, the paper gives this special texture, and the colours, because light and few, are fantastic!
    Ragil Mega: Thanks a lot. I love these two drawings too.

  11. If I had a greenback for each time I came to alizemorand.com… Superb writing.

Leave a Reply

