Chanel in Venice

On Thursday, something (almost) as exciting as my birthday was taking place: Chanel Cruise Collection 2010, themed around the charms of the beautiful city of Venice.

Guests were invited to enjoy the show on the famous Venetian Lido, a key location in Luchino Visconti‘s masterpiece Death in Venice, which Lagerfeld revealed a major inspiration for the collection.

Despite more 30’s inspired hair, the models were dressed with key elements of Belle-Époque sartorial fashion, as seen on the bourgeois families on vacation in Death in Venice, but also in recent film Cheri – currently in cinemas in Europe – on courtesan Lea played by Michelle Pfeiffer.

That is, luxurious white ruffles, lace necklines and Death in Venice fascinating young hero Tadzio‘s sailor stripes indeed. As mysterious and attractive at Tadzio, girls walked on the runway hiding behind mask-glasses in a show dominated by the purity of back and white in true Chanel style.

As you know how fond I am of interconnections between fashion and the arts, I really appreciate how Chanel has been particularly inspired by the arts recently, from Russian Constructivism with the Fall-Winter 09 collection to the legacy of Russian Tsars with the Paris-Moscow collection

As for Death in Venice, if you have not watched it yet, I greatly recommend this masterpiece of Italian film, which won the Palme d’or at Cannes Film Festival, back in 1971. As Cannes 2009 just opened, isn’t it time to watch it? 

Pictures: left: Chanel Cruise 2010, Davide Maestri for WWD. Right: stills from Death in Venice


Bookmark this on Delicious

5 Responses to “Chanel in Venice”

  1. In the words of Rachel Zoe, I died at this collection. The black dresses – oh, mon dieu!

    And that story was real =] If only I wasn’t so young! He had thought me to be in my twenties, but no =[

    I hope your birthday celebrations have been amazing! And thank you for your love! Mm, the smell of croissants is the best =] And I send you love & kisses!

    Bisous,
    La C.

  2. La C: Oh, thanks! I must admit this was far from my favourite Chanel collection, but I always find the Cruise very fun and inspiring.
    Thank you for the birthday wishes! 🙂 xx

  3. This Cruise collection is absolutely amazing ! (like what Karl does ??)

  4. Little Style Box: I must say I actually like it more and more, the 10s / 20s time is really an inspirational era for style. x

  5. […] I did mention my fondness for the Chanel Venitian Cruise here, and there are a few other Parisian names that I would like to highlight, because although it is a […]

Leave a Reply

