Lanvin store opening in London

The oldest French fashion Couture house, Lanvin, celebrates 120 years of existence this year. The house was founded by Jeanne Lanvin in 1889 when she arrived in Paris as a milliner. 

The first Lanvin London flagship store just opened in Mount Street last Friday and it is such a beautiful space I had to take pictures: beyond mere visual merchandising, there is a real scenography imagined by Alber Elbaz to represent the world of Lanvin.

An intimate ‘work in process‘ which suggests a private Parisian apartment, the shop is decorated with furniture, jewels, objects and statues – I liked the little dog! With a striking old-fashioned frontage, the displays are a mix of Art Deco and Versailles styles. I just hope the store will be as visited as it deserves to be, in these difficult times to attract customers.

The play with the mannequins reflected in mirrors is an obvious reference to the fabulous adverts for Spring-Summer O9. I have been absolutely fascinated by these adverts, and above is my expressionism-meets-Pop-art paint interpretation of it. And isn’t this draped pink dress the most beautiful thing? I had painted it before here (review of the collection too) and with these embellished shoes, it is THE perfect Lanvin piece I want to add to my wardrobe.

Painting and picture: Alize Morand.

Bookmark this on Delicious

11 Responses to “Lanvin store opening in London”

  1. Oui j’ai tout lu et j’ai presque tout compris. Ton tableau est superbe. @ +++

  2. Pierre-Jean: merci beaucoup. You see, I knew you could understand! So I don’t even need to write in French! 😉 x

  3. This looks great! Their stores are always beautiful, I was looking at pics of the Paris store the other day and it is gooooorgeous. I’ve linked you to! Oh and excess baggage was fine, I just smiled a lot and was ridonkulously friendly!

    H x

  4. Aw I wish I could go!! The paintings are gorgeous. *sigh* How I love Lanvin & Mr. Elbaz so incredibly much!!

    And I had a major obsession with G. Valli platform pumps too! I haven’t found anything similar yet =/ And my shoes are from Cutesygirl! The quality, to be honest, is okay – it could be better. But they’re still fun to have =]

    I am determined to buy the real Tributes one day! =]

    Bisous,
    La C.

  5. Thank you for this lovely post. The creativity behind Lanvin’s collections, store design and visual window displays never cease to amaze me. I captured the current Parisian windows (on my blog) and also the store interio and aim to do so as long as I’m in Paris. I definitely plan to pay the London boutique a visit next month 🙂

  6. Harry: Thanks! I so want to go to the Paris store now! Haha, charm is the best solution to excess bagage I reckon! 🙂 Or you can wear everything you bought! 😉 x
    La C.: Thanks for the painting! I support you with the Tributes, I want them too (and the Muse!) x
    Hauteworld: You should definitely have a look at the London shop.. The whole of Mount Street deserves to be visited if you haven’t yet! I think I need to visit the Paris store soon then.. 😉 x

  7. coucou ptite fouine!trop sympa tes articles!ça donne l’impression à ma ptite personne de pas avoir totalement oublié l’anglais!lol!mes applaudissements et mes bisous!!hihi
    Nad

  8. Congratulations London! (:

    What a celebratory post. I need a Lanvin flagship store in Singapore. But alas, the demand for Lanvin here is low it seems. ): I remember the first time I stepped into the Lanvin store in Paris, I was so close to crying. I remember walking through its lush interior, stopping and staring at the beautiful handbags, all different in size and design, the wall of fabulous shoes and the hidden treasures of chiffon and lace peeking out from various hangers and display racks.

    Lanvin is love, there is no doubt about that!

  9. Oh wow, I so need to visit the Lanvin store soooon!! Haha, even if I don’t actually buy anything, I can still go to take photographs and sketch 😉 Hope you’re having a wonderful Easter 🙂

  10. Such a nice painting, I can’t wait to see the next one! ^_^

  11. Nad: Thank you Sweetie! You’re English is great anyway, but it’s always good practice, isn’t it?! x
    Hui: Completely in love with Lanvin too, hence my love posts! 😉 You all make me want to discover the Paris store sooo much! 🙂 x
    Dapper Kid: See, that’s what I do too! For now at least! I still want this Lanvin dress in my wardrobe at some point hehe! 😉 How was your Easter? x
    Christophe: Thanks! Haha, suspens for now! x

Leave a Reply

