London Fashion Weekend

Photos: Alize Morand.

Outfits from right to left: Louise Roe wearing unknown but beautiful dress+jacket. Ethereal Nude scene: 1. Jacob Kimmie dress. Gil Carvalho shoes. Jewellery by Philip Treacy for Swarovski. 2. Jasper Conran dress. Kurt Geiger shoes. 3. Arcangel dress. Carvela shoes. Jewellery by Ana Costa for Swarovski. 4. Ashley Isham dress. Carvela shoes.

This weekend, I have been invited to a very special type of weekend: London Fashion Weekend.

Similar to London Fashion Week (with catwalks at the same location, the Natural History Museum), except more focused on new and accessories designers and open to the public with the opportunity to buy designer items at bargain prices.

I was invited as a VIP by official LFW sponsor Miele with other bloggers: CSM student Shini, street-style photographer Kit Lee and Kate, fellow from the Fashion Society. VIP treatment included free Champagne, Bailey’s with choc ice-cream and – no, not only alcohol – goodie bags and premier seats at the catwalk show.

In between trying to resist the temptation to get Luella bags at Topshop prices, interviewing designer Jasper Garvida (interview will be here soon), discovering that you can wash flowers with Miele (I know it sounds strange but it works!) and networking with my new fashion blogger friends while sipping our Champagne in design glasses, I paid particular attention to the catwalk to report to you the beauty that I was witnessing.

The show was divided into four scenes: American Idol, Domestic Goddess, African Queen and Ethereal Nude, taking inspiration from the main trends for the coming season. All looks were the best pieces from Spring-Summer 09, mixing established designers – Matthew Williamson, Tommy Hilfinger, Jaeger, Ossie Clark – with up-and-coming designers – Ashish, Ann-Sophie Back,  Jasper Conran – and high-street – Kurt Geiger, Office, American Retro.

As much as I like all the Spring-Summer trends, from Vuitton‘s African inspiration to Balmain‘s glamourous rock chick, I will always have a soft spot for a natural romantic mood, which is why I completely fell for the last scene Ethereal Nude. Angelic colours, shimmering lightweight materials and sequins that echo the SS09 collections of Nina Ricci, Alberta Ferretti and Christopher Kane.

I really loved the show. But ultimately, my favourite dress was not part of it, although it was still on the runway, and I don’t even know the designer. It was the dress that presenter Louise Roe was wearing, a beautiful sparkling embellished number, with a 20’s twist, and styled with a washed denim jacket. I wonder if she has a stylist!

7 Responses to “London Fashion Weekend”

  1. Oh my, what a treat! (: So many things caught my eyes about this post. First, the Ashley Isham dress. He is a designer from Singapore, so it makes me so proud to see his works anywhere. He’s really blossoming and coming up with some beautiful, beautiful things.

    Second, LUELLA bags at TOPSHOP prices? Oh me oh my. I fainted at the thought. I think the next bag I need to invest in will have to be a Luella one. In my mind, some of her earlier bags are wonderfully iconic, and would be items I would want to pass on to my daughter in future. ❤

    Lastly, I just loved the phrase “you can wash flowers”. It was quirkily poetic. And I liked it very much. (:

  2. hey thats me! Im the second model pictured. im glad you liked the show – Shini recognised me and we caught up again the next day for a little meet and greet to chat about blogging. So fun!
    Zanita

  3. Great post Alize!!!! I like the presenter’s dress too…it’s very 1920s flapper style. Can’t wait to hear the audio interview with Jasper Garvida interview!!

  4. HUI: Oh thank you! Honestly I don’t know how I resisted the lovely chocolate Luella bags… budget! As for Ashley Isham, I didn’t know his work, but the dresses were truly wonderful and moved beautifully on the catwalk! And for the roses, I was really surprised, but I guess if a washing machine can wash a flower without damaging it, it proves it can wash the most delicate of dresses!

    ZANITA: You were so lovely at the show, Shini told me it was you! I really loved the hairstyle, really suited you. But I wonder, did you get to keep the dresses? If not, I don’t know how you resisted them!

    STYLE SLICKER: Thank you, loved this 20s dress too really! Your interview was so nice too! Can’t wait to put mine up! 🙂 x

  5. Oh gosh. That sequined dress with the blazer is ridiculously amazing… I need those two pieces maintenant!!

    Congrats on being one of FOUR to be invited! You lucky, lucky girl; you deserve all the best, darling Alize!

    Bisous, <- I love that word. I wish I was French ;]
    La C.

  6. Je pense que tu seras agréablement surprise de ma réponse. @ +++

  7. La C.; Thank you!! I love that sequined dress, I need it maintenant too! 😉 Bisous!
    Pierre-Jean: Haha so much suspens!

Leave a Reply

