Talent Alert: William Tempest

Pictures: William Tempest SSO9. Illustration: Vogue, William Tempest FW09.

I know I said I would only mention my favourite pick of each international Fashion Week, but you knew it was not going to happen anyway, didn’t you?!

So officially, my heart goes to Christopher Kane, but talking about young fashion talents from the UK, I have to introduce you to 23 years-old Cheshire genius William Tempest

A graduate from London College of Fashion, he has already worked with Giles Deacon, Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, Donatella Versace and Madonna herself! 

I like his blue feather dresses that remind me of Lanvin SS08, I like his sheer dresses as worn by Emma Watson on the red carpet or her premiere for The Despereaux recently – great publicity for William by the way – I like his designs in general. Plus I like the fact that he chose a black model for the campaign of his latest collection. 

His talent has soon been recognised by the industry since he was selected for Fashion Fringe 2008 and just won the Vauxhall Fashion Scout 2009 prize in February, which enabled him to show at London Fashion Week for the first time.

Not only is William so talented as a designer but I had the pleasure to meet him last weekend at London Fashion Week, in a suite at the Metropolitan, and he is truly adorable. I could not believe my eyes when I saw his final silhouette in front of me: an incredible full-length multi-coloured dress with huge pleats, a mix of Hussein Chalayan‘s creativity and Alexander McQueen‘s skills for shapes and structures.

Now you know.

4 Responses to “Talent Alert: William Tempest”

  1. I love, love, love this feather situation! I would wear that everyday. Seriously.

  2. Lauriebot: Tell me about it! Feathers, deep blue and the most amazing strapless cut. This William knows how to make a girl happy! x

  3. He is indeed a genius. Those little corset-like one pieces? I would die for them in a heartbeat. Yes I would!!

    xoxo,
    La C.

  4. La C.: Me too! x x

Leave a Reply

